## STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT

C4-85-697

ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO REVIEW
THE AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION
MODEL CODE OF JUDICIAL CONDUCT
AND THE RULES OF THE MINNESOTA
BOARD ON JUDICIAL STANDARDS

**ORDER** 

WHEREAS, the American Bar Association in 1990 adopted a Model Code of Judicial Conduct and recommended its adoption to the highest courts of the several states; and

WHEREAS, this Court has concluded that the creation of an advisory committee is necessary and appropriate to review and evaluate both the Model Code of Judicial Conduct and the Rules of the Minnesota Board on Judicial Standards.

## NOW, THEREFORE IT IS ORDERED that:

- 1. A fifteen member committee designated as the Supreme Court Advisory Committee to Review the American Bar Association Model Code of Judicial Conduct and the Rules of the Minnesota Board on Judicial Standards be, and hereby is, established to carry out the responsibilities described above.
- 2. The Committee shall be composed of five judges, five attorneys admitted to the practice of law in the State of Minnesota and five nonlawyer citizens of Minnesota.
- 3. The following judges are appointed to the Advisory Committee:

Honorable Thomas R. Butler, Jr. Freeborn County Courthouse 411 S. Broadway Albert Lea, MN 56007 Honorable Paulette K. Flynn 1631 Ramsey County Courthouse St. Paul, MN 55102

Honorable Roberta K. Levy 12-C Government Center Minneapolis, MN 55487 Honorable Stephen L. Muehlberg Anoka County Courthouse Anoka, MN 55303

Honorable Edward Parker Minnesota Judicial Center St. Paul, MN 55155

4. The following attorneys are appointed to the Advisory Committee:

Richard Beens Barna Guzy & Steffen 200 Coon Rapids Blvd. Suite 400 Coon Rapids, MN 55433 Jerry Blackwell Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi 800 LaSalle, Suite 2800 Minneapolis, MN 55402 Gene Halverson Halverson, Watters, Bye, Downs 332 W. Superior Street, Suite 700 Duluth, MN 55802 Kathy Newman Larkin, Hoffman, Daly & Lindgren 7900 Xerxes Avenue Bloomington, MN 55431

Jackie Regis Office of the Attorney General 525 Park Street St. Paul, MN 55103

5. The following public members are appointed to the Advisory Committee:

Harriet Burkhalter 5 West St. Albans Road Hopkins, MN 55343

Vivian Jenkins Nelsen 600 21st Ave. S. Box 212 Augsberg College Minneapolis, MN 55454 Joseph R. Kingman 641 Summit Avenue St. Paul, MN 55105-3434

Lawrence M. Redmond 1920 S. 1st Street, Suite 2203 Minneapolis, MN 55454

Robert W. Terry 1900 S. Victoria Road, Unit M Mendota Heights, MN 55118

- 6. Judge Thomas Butler shall serve as Chair of the Advisory Committee.
- 7. DePaul Willette, Executive Secretary of the Board on Judicial Standards, shall serve as an ex officio member.
- 8. Michael Johnson, Staff Attorney, Office of Research and Planning, State Court Administration, shall serve as staff member to the committee.
- 9. The Advisory Committee shall make its final report to this Court on or before, December 31, 1993.

DATED: March 16, 1993

BY THE COURT:

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

MAR 1 6 1993

FILED

A.M. Keith
Chief Justice